ABOUT US

Shared Passions

Georg and Mackenzie met in 2017 in at the Buffalo Field Campaign in Montana, where Mackenzie worked at the time and Georg was traveling through doing ethnographic field work about indigenous communities of the Northern Great Plains. There, they discovered their mutual passion for the outdoors, wildlife and adventure travels through the wilderness. Since rejoicing as partners they journeyed with their two dogs Obsidian and Viera into the backcountry of Alaska, Montana, Washington State, Idaho and Wyoming in the US, Alberta, British Columbia and the Yukon in Canada and the Austrian and Italian Alps in Europe.
With settling in wild and pristine Nasswald, Austria they have found the perfect place to live, teach and share their passions with others from around the world.

WILD NASSWALD

Being one of the most remote and isolate towns of Austria, the roughly 80-people strong village of Nasswald is amidst the easternmost alpine peaks of the Alps, the Klosterwappen (2076 m) of Schneeberg mountain, the Heukuppe (2007 m) of the Rax high-plateau, Europe’s largest high plateau, and Windberg (1903 m) of the Schneealpe massive. Located at the end of the road, Nasswald and its side valleys owe their secluded location to the Höllental canyon allowing only one public access by car or bus. The surrounding mountain and forest landscape much of which is under environmental protection hosts a large variety of species, including mountain goats, red deer, boars, badgers, fish otters, owls, lynx and the kings of alpine skies, golden eagles. Covering thousands of acres in each direction, this natural bounty makes Nasswald the perfect base to experience and learn about the rich natural environment of alpine forests and mountains and  lifestyles in its vicinity.

The TEAM

Georg Bergthaler

Georg is a cultural anthropologist specialized in indigenous cultures of North America and village life in the Austrian Alps. Since childhood he has continuously fed his passion for the outdoors. He is a certified hiking guide, wilderness guide, rafting, canoe and kayak guide, log builder as well as a self-taught survivalist and craftsman with practical mountaineering experience in the Alps, the Rocky Mountains and the Coastal Mountains of Alaska. In the United States, he underwent training as Wilderness First Responder and Swift Water Rescue Technician. In Montana he learned how to build log cabins and attained some practical experience in a log yard. His last big adventure was in Montana, where he volunteered with the Buffalo Field Campaign while living with Mackenzie and their two dogs in a secluded tipi in the forest over the winter. 

Mackenzie Bergthaler

Mackenzie is a wildlife-rehabilitator, dog-trainer, bushcraft enthusiast and axe-coach, who spent most of her professional career working with the Buffalo Field Campaign to protect and enhance habitat of Yellowstone National Park’s wild bison herds. She hiked and canoed rivers and lakes in Massachusetts, Washington State, Montana, Canada and Alaska and was trained as Wilderness First Responder and Swift Water Rescue Technician. Her biggest passions are working with wild animals, improving her bushcraft skillset and throwing axes. In Montana, she has taught herself how to tan hides and track animals. In Massachusetts she has worked with a wildlife rehabilitation center and helped heal and raise raccoons, coyotes, foxes, opossums, skunks and about any other urban wildlife. When coaching at the Agawam Axe House in her hometown, her axe throwing videos attained popularity on the internet and she has since been featured on Daily Mail TV US as expert on the new sport.

Obsidian, british Lab

Obsidian was born on the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation in June 2016. When joining the water protection efforts of the local indigenous population opposing the Dakota Access Pipeline, Obsidian found Mackenzie at camp and would not leave her side anymore. Ever since then they’ve traveled all across the United States and later, together with Georg and Viera, also Canada and Alaska. Obsidian is a very confident, responsible, well educated and fairly serious dog that loves to hike, go on runs, explore as well as guard his environment. He is friendly to other dogs, loves to play, but knows and establishes his boundaries without trying to be dominant. With humans he is an absolutely adorable love bug, that enjoys petting and positive interaction. Having spent most of his early life in high mountain Montana, Obsidian found a second home in Nasswald that fully caters to all his needs and wants.

VIERA, Alaskan Husky

Prior to joining Georg, Mackenzie and Obsidian on their travels, Viera literally roamed about the Wild West. Straying through the arid, rocky and dry landscapes of Idaho’s high plateaus, she adopted the habits of a scavenger and to this day she hunts, gathers and feasts like an opportunist. Georg and Mackenzie found her in a shelter in Twin Falls, Idaho, whilst traveling through the country. The three of them clicked immediately and also Obsidian got to love and accept her once they rejoiced in Montana. Viera is highly food motivated and an incredibly smart and quick learner when anything edible can be attained as a result of it. With other dogs she likes to play off the dominant diva, although she acts much tougher than she really is. With humans she is shy at the beginning but once she warmed up she’s affectionate and a great companion on hikes, runs and sled, wagon and bike rides. As an Alaskan husky her pulling power is unmet in strength and endurance.

en_US

ÜBER UNS

GETEILTE LEIDENSCHAFTEN

Georg und Mackenzie lernten sich 2017 in Montana kennen, als Georg auf einer Forschungsreise gegenwärtige Lebenswelten von Prärieindianern ergründete. Dort entdeckten die beiden, dass sie ihre Leidenschaften für Wildtiere, Wildnis, Outdoor-Aktivitäten und Abenteuer-Reisen in der Natur teilten. Als Partner bereisten sie fortan mit ihren Hunden Obsidian und Viera Wildnisgebiete in Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Washington State und Alaska in den USA und Alberta, British Columbia und im Yukon Territory in Kanada. Ebenso die österreichische und italienische Alpenlandschaft haben die beiden vielerorts durchwandert und haben deren Naturreichtum zu schätzen gelernt.
In Nasswald, einem kleinen Ort inmitten der ersten alpinen Erhebungen der Ostalpen, haben sie den perfekten Fleck Erde zum Leben und verwirklichen ihrer gemeinsamen Leidenschaften gefunden.

WILD NASSWALD

Nasswald zählt mit weniger als 100 Einwohnern zu einem der kleinsten und entlegensten Orte Österreichs, umgeben von höchsten Gipfeln Niederösterreichs: dem Klosterwappen (2076 m) des Schneebergs, der Heukuppe (2007 m) der Raxalpe, Europas größtem Hochplateau, und dem Windberg (1903 m) der Schneealpe. Am Ende einer Straße gelegen erreicht man Nasswald mit Bus oder Auto lediglich über zwei Täler, das Höllental und das Klostertal. Das umgebende Gebirge und die Waldlandschaft, die zum Teil auch unter Naturschutz stehen, beherbergen eine große Artenvielfalt, darunter Gämse, Rehe, Wildschweine, Dachse, Fischotter, Eulen und den König der Lüfte, den Steinadler. Natur pur in alle Richtungen, soweit das Auge reicht, - das macht Nasswald zum idealen Ausgangspunkt die lokalen Tier- und Pflanzenwelten sowie Landschaftstypen zu erkunden und und kennenzulernen.

DAS TEAM

Georg Bergthaler

Georg ist Kultur- und Sozialanthropolge, der sich auf sowohl auf die Erforschung indigener Kulturen Nordamerikas als auch dörfliche Lebenswelten des alpinen Raums spezialisiert hat. Seit Kindheit an hat er seine Leidenschaft für ein Leben unter freiem Himmel genährt. Er ist zertifizierter Bergwanderführer, Wildnisführer, Rafting-, Kanu- und Kayakguide, Blockhüttenbauer, Survival Coach, der auf seinen Abenteuerreisen in den Alpen, Rocky Mountains und den Küstengebirgen Alaskas sein Tramperwissen und bergsteigerischen Kenntnisse erworben, erprobt und verfeinert hat. In den USA absolvierte er zudem Ausbildungen zum Wildnisretter (Wilderness First Responder) und Sicherheitstechniker im Wildwasser (Swift Water Rescue Technician). Sein letztes großes Abenteuer führte ihn nach Montana, wo er bei der Buffalo Field Campaign mitarbeitete, die sich für das Überleben und die Wiederausbreitung der letzten Wildbisons Amerikas einsetzt. Dort verbrachte er einen Winter mit Mackenzie und ihren zwei Hunden in einem abgelegenen Tipi im Wald. 

Mackenzie Bergthaler

Mackenzie ist Wildtierretterin, Hundetrainerin, Bushcraft-Enthusiastin und Axtwerferin. Den größten Teil ihrer Karriere arbeitete sie als Unterstützerin und Organisatorin bei der Buffalo Field Campaign, um Lebensraum und Lebensbedingungen der wilden Büffelherden im Yellowstone National Park zu verbessern, zu erweitern und zu schützen. Als passionierte Tramperin und Paddlerin hat sie Erfahrung auf Flüssen, Seen und in Gebirgen von Massachusetts, Washington State, Montana, Kanada and Alaska gesammelt. Sie absolvierte eine Ausbildung zur Wildnisretterin (Wilderness First Responder) und Sicherheitstechnikerin im Wildwasser (Swift Water Rescue Technician). Ihre größte Hingabe gilt vor allem drei Dingen: der Erweiterung ihrer Bushcraft-Fertigkeiten, der Arbeit mit Wildtieren und dem Axtwerfen. In Montana brachte sie sich Spurenlesen und Naturgerben bei. In Massachusetts arbeitete sie in einem Wildtierrettungszentrum und lernte dabei, Waschbären, Kojoten, Füchse, Opossoms, Stinktiere und andere urbane Wildtiere zu heilen und zwischenzeitlich großzuziehen. Als Axtwurf Trainerin in ihrem Heimatort Agawam wurden ihre Videos in einem Beitrag von THIS IS NOW veröffentlicht und so wurde sie von der Nachrichtenshow Daily Mail TV als Botschafterin des neuen Trendsports interviewt.

Obsidian, british Lab

Obsidian kam im Juni 2016 auf dem Standing Rock Sioux Reservat zur Welt. Er lief Mackenzie während der Proteste gegen die Dakota Access Pipeline im dazugehörigen Lager der Water Protectors zu. Seither wich er nicht mehr von ihrer Seite und reiste mit ihr quer durch die Vereinigten Staaten und später mit Georg und Viera auch nach Kanada und Alaska. Obsidian ist ein sehr erfahrender, zuverlässiger, verantwortungsvoller und gut erzogener Hund. Er liebt Wandern, Laufen, Kundschaften und auch das Bewachen seiner Umgebung. Anderen Hunden gegenüber ist er freundlich gesinnt und spielt gerne, weiß jedoch Grenzen zu setzen, ohne viel Dominanzgehabe. Unter Menschen ist er ein höchst charmanter Liebling, der es genießt, gestreichelt zu werden und auf liebevolle Art mit seinem Gegenüber in Beziehung zu treten. Nachdem er seine frühen Lebensjahre in Montana verbracht hatte, fand Obsidian in Nasswald eine neue Heimat, in der er sich rundum wohlfühlt.

VIERA, Alaskan Husky

Bevor sie sich Georg, Mackenzie und Obsidian auf ihren Reisen anschloss, streunte Viera durch den „Wilden Westen“. Sie zog durch die ausgedörrte, felsige und trockene Landschaft der Hochplateaus von Idaho und wurde dabei zu einem Allesfresser, was sie bis zum heutigen Tag auch geblieben ist: Sie jagt, sammelt, fastet und schlemmt, je nachdem, was die Situation gerade hergibt. Georg und Mackenzie fanden sie auf ihrer Reise in einem Hundeasyl in Twin Falls, Idaho. Die drei verstanden sich auf Anhieb und auch Obsidian gewöhnte sich allmählich an sie, nachdem sie in Montana aufeinander getroffen waren. Viera ist leicht mit Futter zu motivieren, unglaublich schlau und eine schnelle Lernerin, sofern etwas Essbares als Belohnung in Aussicht steht. Vor anderen Hunden spielt sie sich manchmal als Diva auf, wobei sie versucht Dominanz auszustrahlen, über die sie aber im Grunde nicht verfügt. Mit Menschen ist sie zunächst eher schüchtern, aber sobald sie jemanden näher kennen gelernt hat, ist sie höchst liebevoll und eine großartige Begleiterin auf Wanderungen, Ausläufen, Schlitten-, Kutschen- und Radfahrten.

de_AT