NASSWALD ETHNOHISTORY HIKE

119,00 (includes up to 12 people)

Learn about Nasswald’s history, personalities and culture, whilst exploring the town and its vicinity

We offer a FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE from and back to Payerbach-Reichenau Train Station (Bhf) upon written request. Trains between Payerbach-Reichenau and Vienna depart every half an hour. Please use the ÖBB – Austrian Railway company’s route planner to inform yourself about the latest timetables regarding train connections. You can book train tickets online here.

 

  • December 2021
  • MO
  • DI
  • Mi
  • DO
  • Fr
  • Sa
  • So
  • 01
  • 02
  • 03
  • 04
  • 05
  • 06
  • 07
  • 08
  • 09
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31

Please Pick a Date

If yes, please let us know at what time in the questions and comments field below.

In the mid-1700s religious refugees from Gosau in Upper Austria explored a wilderness beyond the Hell’s Canyon (Höllental) as contracted lumberjacks and found a new home.
This is how the story of Nasswald as a settlement began, which still resonates deeply in this small and uniquely historical town. Dive into a world of hardship, uncertainty and great accomplishments and learn how Rax King Georg Hubmer made it from rags to riches in the forests of the Rax and Schneeberg country.
Find out about the diverse and complex geopolitical transformations Nasswald experienced in its short but thrilling history and how Nasswald maintained its pioneering spirit, lumberjack profession and communal traditions until present-day.
As one of the smallest towns in Austria surrounded by miles and miles of pristine and protected forest lands, Nasswald is host to a cultural and natural magic that has gotten rare in our connected and modern world.
Come, experience and see Nasswald from an ethnohistorical perspective that otherwise remains barely touched upon by most visitors. The tour will be closed with a visit of the Hubmer Gedächtnisstätte, Naßwald’s ethnographic museum. For a small donation historic tools, machines, mechanisms, models of dams, tunnels, log slides, historic ways of building and insider information about local histories, ways of life and self-subsistence in Naßwald valley from the beginnings to present day can be inspected.

The tour will be followed by a two hour guided round trip hike to either the Hubmer Alm and Vista Point, Heufuss and Wallner Alm or the Kuhsteig over the Naßbachkamm and back.

For this medium walking tour no prior hiking experience is required.

If you just want the tour without the hike click here.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

en_US

NASSWALD ETHNOHISTORY WANDERUNG

119,00 (bis zu 12 Personen im Preis mitinbegriffen)

Learn about Nasswald’s history, personalities and culture, whilst exploring the town and its vicinity

Auf schriftliche Anfrage bieten wir einen GRATIS SHUTTLE SERVICE vom/zum Bahnhof Payerbach-Reichenau an. Züge zwischen Wien und Payerbach-Reichenau fahren jede halbe Stunde. Bitte verwende den ÖBB Routenplaner um dich über tagesaktuelle Zugverbindungen zu informieren. Tickets sind online im ÖBB Ticket Shop erhältlich.

 

  • Oktober 2021
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th
  • Fr
  • Sa
  • Su
  • 01
  • 02
  • 03
  • 04
  • 05
  • 06
  • 07
  • 08
  • 09
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31

Bitte wählen Sie ein Datum

Falls ja, teile uns bitte deine Ankunftszeit in den Anmerkungen unterhalb mit.
Kathegorie:

In der Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts begab sich eine Gruppe evangelischer Glaubensflüchtlinge aus Gosau in Oberösterreich auf die Suche nach Arbeit und fand zugleich eine neue Heimat in der Wildnis jenseits des Höllentals, wo sie sich eine Existenz als Holzknechte und Schwemmer schufen.
So nahm die Geschichte Nasswalds als feste Siedlung ihren Anfang, welche bis heute spürbar und fest im kollektiven Bewusstsein Nasswalds verankert ist. Tauche ein in die Vergangenheit Nasswalds, stell dich den vielen Hürden, Schwierigkeiten und Unsicherheiten, mit denen die Holzknechte zu kämpfen hatten und bewundere deren Triumphe und Errungenschaften. Lerne wie Raxkönig Georg Hubmer vom Holzknecht zum Millionär avancierte in den Wäldern zwischen Schneeberg, Rax und Schneealpe.
Ergründe die diversen und tiefgreifenden geopolitischen Veränderungen, welche die Entwicklungsgeschichte Nasswalds prägten, und wie Nasswald seinen Pioniersgeist und Holzknechttradition bis heute pflegt und bewahrt hat.
Als eine der kleinsten Ortschaften Österreichs, umgeben von meilenweiter Naturlandschaft, behält sich Nasswald eine Magie, welche selten wurde in unserer verbundenen modernen Welt.
Komm und erlebe Nasswald von einer ethnohistorischen Perspektive, die vielen Besuchern ansonst verborgen bleibt. Zum Abschluss besuchen wir das lokale Volkskunde Museum, die Hubmer Gedächtnisstätte. In dieser können gegen freiwillige Spende neben Volkshandwerk, historischem Werkzeug und Modellen technischer Errungenschaften der Holzbringung wie Klausen, Aufzügen, Liften, etc. auch kulturhistorisch informative Tafeln und Abbildungen zu Bauweisen, Lebensweisen und Arbeitsweisen, sowie regionalgeschichtliche Dokumente besichtigt werden.

Die Tour wird mit einer zweistündigen Wanderung abgerundet; entweder über die Hubmer Alm zu einem Aussichtspunkt, über die Wallner Alm und Vogelkirchen oder den Kuhstieg über den Nassbachkamm.

Für diese mittelschwere Wanderung ist keine bergsteigerische Erfahrung vonnöten.

Wenn du die Tour ohne anschließende Wanderung buchen möchtest, klick hier.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

de_AT