BUSHCRAFT & SURVIVAL

1-DAY BASIC SURVIVAL WORKSHOP & WILDERNESS WEEKEND

At our wilderness 1-day workshops & weekends, we invite you as family, group of friends or single traveler to get an insight into self-sufficient bushcraft life and the skills and mindset it takes to survive and live within a natural environment.
Depending on your priorities, we'll focus on one or more bushcraft essentials like fire-making, shelter building, useful tools and how to use them effectively. We will also discuss things to consider, the right planning, mental and physical preparation as well as what's always necessary to take with you on a trip into the backcountry, be it by foot or by canoe.

It is an experience where everybody is not only invited to learn, but also to be creative and to put their personal survival strategies, skills and ideas to a test.

During this workshop, you can tent in our rustic Canvas tents with wood stove for 20€ per person or book a room at the RAXKING INN ("Wirtshaus zum Raxkönig") for 40€ per person a night through us.

This activity is also suited as a teambuilding event for companies or groups of friends and families.

HIDE TANNING WORKSHOP WITH MACKENZIE

Do you want to learn how to tan hides? Learn this ancestral crafting technique at WILD NASSWALD with experienced deer, rabbit and bison hide tanning expert Mackenzie. Mackenzie has a unique and respectful approach to tanning. As a vegetarian her compassion for animals and wildlife extents utilitarian boundaries of self-preservation and celebrates life of tanned animals through tender care and respectful reuse of gifted materials. Watch Mackenzie in action on Youtube.

Since we do not always have hides readily available and have to get them directly from hunters and butchers, we ask people to contact us directly so we can coordinate the best time for conducting the workshop.

This activity is also suited as a teambuilding event for companies, groups of friends and families.

WILDERNESS NAVIGATION AND ORIENTATION WITH WILDERNESS GUIDE GEORG

You want to know everything necessary to take a trip into wild backcountry? No matter if you seek to explore the bush of Alaska, Canada, Patagonia, New Zealand, Greenland, Australia or Austria, with these backcountry navigation and camping basics you'll have the foundation and orientation you need. Join and learn how to work with a compass, read maps, pack efficiently and act informed in backcountry terrain and in regards to wildlife.

The workshop is divided into two parts, a basic instruction and a field practice over the course of two days each, so you'd be able to participate in the training on two weekends.
NOTE: Completion of the basic instruction is required to participate in the field practice.

Upon completion you'll receive a certificate of training.

During this workshop, you can tent in our rustic Canvas tents with wood stove for 25€ per person or book a room at the RAXKING INN ("Wirtshaus zum Raxkönig") for 40€ per person a night through us.

PINE NEEDLE BASKETRY: CRAFT A GIFT

White and black pines are both a predominant coniferous tree, native to Austria and local to our area. Pushed off from the most desirable soils by beech, fir and spruce trees, white pines have adapted to extreme terrain. Thus we find a lot of white pine in Höllental, where only white pines persist on the steep and rocky slopes. In contrast, black pine forests were planted under the reign Maria Theresia in the 18th century around Wiener Neustadt, which also makes it much easier to harvest their needles. In our pine needle basketry workshops we'll provide you with everything you need to make your own pine needle basket from this magnificent, weather, wind and drought resistent local tree species.

Mackenzie has perfected her skills in pine needle basketry and is happy to show it to everyone interested in making this crafting technique a passion or simply to use it to make a nice Christmas or birthday gift.

Why us ...

As a small family enterprise we value and cherish the personal contact and relationships with our guests.

What You Get ...

An outdoor experience tailored to your individual needs and skill levels as a single adventurer, family, group or company.

en_US

BUSHCRAFT & SURVIVAL

1-TAGES BASIC SURVIVAL WORKSHOP & WILDNIS WOCHENENDE

Bei unseren 1-tägigen Survival Workshops und Wildnis Wochenenden bieten wir euch einzigartige Einblicke in die selbsterhaltende Dynamik eines Lebens in der Wildnis und zeigen euch Methoden, das Leben in und mit der Natur zu meistern.
Abhängig von euren Prioritäten, werden wir uns auf eine oder mehrere Bushcraft Essentials konzentrieren, darunter Feuermachen, Unterschlupfbau und Einsatz von Werkzeugen. Außerdem besprechen wir die richtige Planung, mentale und physische Vorbereitung sowie welche Dinge man notwendigerweise immer bei sich haben sollte und warum, wenn man auf einen Trip in die Wildnis aufbricht, ob zu Fuß oder mit dem Kanu.

Teilnehmer sind eingeladen, kreativ zu werden und eigene Strategien zum Überleben in der Wildnis zu entwickeln und auf die Probe zu stellen.

Für den Zeitraum des Workshops kannst du gratis zelten auf unserem Grundstück oder wir vermitteln dir ein Zimmer im "Wirtshaus zum Raxkönig" für 40€/pro Person und Nacht.

Dieses Angebot eignet sich hervorragend für Teambuilding Events, Gruppenausflüge von Freunden und Familien.

GERBEREI WORKSHOP MIT MACKENZIE

Du willst lernen wie man Decken, Felle oder Pelze gerbt? Bei uns lernst du die Kunst des Gerben nach Vorbild unserer Vorfahren bei einem einschlägigen Workshop mit Mackenzie, welche diese Technik in den USA erlernt hat und seit mehreren Jahren praktiziert. Mackenzie's hat einen besonderen Zugang zum Gerben: Als Vegetarierin und überzeugte Wildtierschützerin übersteigt ihre Empathie für Wildtiere utilaristische Konzepte der Selbsterhaltung. Mit der Verarbeitung und Verwertung von Tierhäuten, welche oft nur als Abfall- oder Nebenprodukt der Jagd angesehen werden, zelebriert und schenkt Mackenzie diesen Respekt, Wertschätzung, ein zweites Leben und damit neue Bedeutung. Gewinne einen ersten Eindruck in Mackenzie's Youtube-Video dazu unterhalb.

Da wir Tierhäute nicht immer verfügbar haben, sondern diese von Jägern beziehen müssen, bitten wir Euch bei uns bezüglich dieses Workshops direkt anzufragen, sodass wir einen geeigneten Termin zum Gerben mit Euch vereinbaren können.

Dieses Angebot eignet sich hervorragend für Teambuilding Events, Gruppenausflüge von Freunden und Familien.

WILDNIS NAVIGATION UND CAMPING BASICS MIT WILDNISFÜHRER GEORG

Du willst alles notwendige wissen um eine Reise in die Wildnis anzutreten? Unabhängig davon, ob du im Hinterland Alaskas, Kanadas, Patagoniens, Neuseelands, Grönlands, Australiens oder Österreichs unterwegs sein willst, diese Navigations- und Campingkenntnisse rüsten dich mit dem grundlegendem Wissen dafür. Du lernst wie man mit dem Kompass arbeitet, Karten ließt, was wie warum gepackt wird oder auch nicht und welche Dinge es in der Wildnis und in der Anwesenheit von Großwild zu beachten gilt.

Der Workshop ist unterteilt in zwei Teile, eine Grundausbildung und Feldpraxis über die Dauer von jeweils zwei Tagen, sodass man in der Lage ist diese an zwei Wochenenden zu absolvieren.
ANMERKUNG: Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme an der Feldpraxis ist der erfolgreiche Abschluss der Grundausbildung.

Mit Abschluss der Ausbildung erhältst du von uns ein Zertikat.

Für den Zeitraum des Workshops kannst du gratis zelten auf unserem Grundstück oder wir vermitteln dir ein Zimmer im "Wirtshaus zum Raxkönig" für 40€/pro Person und Nacht.

WORKSHOP IM KIEFERNNADELN KORBFLECHTEN

Weiß- und Schwarzkiefer sind beides heimische Koniferenarten in Österreich und speziell in unserer Umgebung weit verbreitet. Da sie von nährstoffreicheren Böden von der Fichte und Buche verdrängt wurde, hat sich die Weißkiefer auf Extremstandorte in Schluchten und im Fels zurückgezogen. Kein Wunder also, dass Weißkiefer im Höllentaldie vorherrschende Baumart ist. Im Gegensatz dazu wurden im 18. Jahrhundert unter Maria Theresia wärmeliebendere Schwarzkiefernwälder um Wiener Neustadt im Flach- und sanften Hügelland gepflanzt, was das Sammeln der Nadeln natürlich wesentlich einfacher macht. Bei unseren Flechtworkshops versorgen wir dich mit allem was du für die Herstellung deines eigenen Kiefernnadelkorb from this magnificent, weather, wind and drought resistent local tree species.

Mackenzie has perfected her skills in pine needle basketry and is happy to show it to everyone interested in making this crafting technique a passion or simply to use it to make a nice Christmas or birthday gift.

Warum wir ...

Als ein kleines Familienunternehmen schätzen wir den persönlichen Kontakt und Austausch und bemühen uns um jeden einzelnen unserer Gäste.

Worauf du zählen kannst ...

Ein Abenteuer genau auf deine Wünsche, Fähigkeiten und Bedürfnisse abgestimmt, egal ob du uns alleine, mit der Familie, mit Firma, Freunden oder einer anderen Gruppe besuchst.

de_AT